About Safe Harbor

About Us

We work to save, transform, and rebuild lives.

We support those who are experiencing or have experienced domestic violence, sexual violence, or human trafficking.

In all of our programs, we work from a trauma-informed and empowerment-focused lens. We see each survivor as the expert of their own experiences and strive to create a safe and welcoming space for all. Our goals are to help clients understand and address the impact of trauma and build resilience.

Our services are available in both English and Spanish and are available to anyone who has experienced sexual assault, domestic violence, or human trafficking regardless of race, gender, age, national origin, immigration status, gender identity or expression, faith, sexual orientation, disability, ethnicity, and geographic location. Because survivors are often controlled financially by their abuser and cannot pay for services without fear of retribution, all services are offered free of charge to the survivor.

We offer comprehensive services for survivors of domestic violence, sexual violence, and human trafficking including: individual and group counseling, children/youth services, 24-hour helpline, court advocacy, emergency shelter, hospital accompaniment, and community education and training.

Long term, we are committed to transforming the lives of survivors. By providing shelter, counseling, support, education, and advocacy to survivors, we are helping those who have been impacted by violence and abuse to heal, rebuild, and move forward with their lives.

We were founded in 1998 when representatives of Bon Secours Richmond Health System, Commonwealth Catholic Charities, Henrico County, The Salvation Army, Virginia Commonwealth University Sexual Assault Program, and the YWCA of Richmond met to address the shortage of shelter beds and support services in Henrico County for domestic violence victims. We opened our doors in April 2000 as an emergency shelter to provide safe housing for victims of domestic violence in imminent danger.

While Henrico County is our primary service area, we are proud to collaborate with our community partners to serve the Greater Richmond region.

Safe Harbor Board of Directors:

Brendan Paget,  President – VP, Global Sales Operations, Allianz Partners

Ashley Lumpkin, Vice President – Market Strategy & Insights Manager, Anthem, Inc.

Billy Harper, Treasurer – Senior Vice President, Commercial Banking SunTrust Bank

Jeffrey Fielo, Secretary – Project Manager, CarMax 

Andy Boyles, CPA – Manager, Yount, Hyde & Barbour, PC

Diane L. Cafritz – Senior Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer, CarMax

Angie Dempsey – Senior Development Officer, Bon Secours Richmond Health Care Foundation

Kathleen Dussault – Kathleen G. Dussault, Esq.

Peter Eisenhauer – Business Director, Capital One

Cathy Samuels Hobson – Community Volunteer

Denise Marshall – Chief HR Officer, Allianz Partners

Pat McCarthy – Division Manager, HHHunt Homes

Harold McManus – Community Volunteer

Lesley Newberry – Owner, 5KNutrition

Jane Savoca – Community Volunteer

Jennifer Scheller – Associate Attorney, Hill & Rainey Attorneys

Sara Shelton, SPHR, SHRM-SCP – Human Resources Senior Director, McKesson

Mindy Telliard – Product Stewardship & Regulatory Manager, DuPont

Katelyn Turner – Community Relations Manager, St. Andrew’s School

Ann Yauger – AVP, Product Management, CarMax

Staff:

Leadership Team

Cathy Easter
Executive Director
cathy@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x11

Cindy Capriles, LCSW, CTP-C
Director of Counseling
cindy@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x18

John Gould
Director of Finance
john@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x10

Kimberly Dailey
SDV Program Manager
kimberly@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x32

Mary Maupai
Development Director
mary@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x17

Paz Ochs
Director of Court Advocacy
paz@safeharborshelter.com
804-501-7696

Rebecca Hawthorne, Ed.D.
Director of Data & Evaluation
rebecca@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x33

McKayla Burnett, MSW
HT Program Manager
mckayla@safeharborshelter.com
804-337-0286

Education & Outreach Team

Elena Brooks-Perkins
Education & Outreach Manager
elena@safeharborshelter.com

Katherine Moore
Volunteer & Administrative Coordinator
katherine@safeharborshelter.com

Court Team

Amber Stanwix
Court Advocate
amber@safeharborshelter.com

Finance Team

Kat Sanders
Finance Assistant
karen@safeharborshelter.com

Counseling Team

Blanca Barrera, MSW, Supervisee in Social Work
Bilingual DV/SV Counselor
blanca@safeharborshelter.com

Liz Cozzati, LCSW
DV/SV Counselor
liz@safeharborshelter.com

Trenice Morton, MSW, Supervisee in Social Work
DV/SV Counselor
trenice@safeharborshelter.com

Trish Smith, MS, Resident in Counseling
DV/SV Counselor
trish@safeharborshelter.com

Nicole Cason, MSW, Supervisee in Social Work
DV/SV Counselor
nicolec@safeharborshelter.com

Safe Houses Team

Audrey Parrish
Bilingual Case Manager
audrey@safeharborshelter.com

Alyssia Rodriguez
Client Services Advocate
alyssia@safeharborshelter.com

Carolyn Foster
Client Services Advocate
carolyn@safeharborshelter.com

Erin Cave
Client Services Advocate
erin@safeharborshelter.com

Kimberly Hill
Sr. Client Services Advocate
kimberlyh@safeharborshelter.com

Raven White
Client Services Advocate
raven@safeharborshelter.com

Hayley Nixon McCord
Client Service Advocate
hayley@safeharborshelter.com

Ginaya Hodge
Client Service Advocate
ginaya@safeharborshelter.com

Janae Robinson
Client Service Advocate
janae@safeharborshelter.com

Courtney Woodburn
Shelter Case Manager
courtney@safeharborshelter.com

LaKeisha Carmine
Client Services Advocate
lakeisha@safeharborshelter.com

Maria Altonen
Client Services Advocate
maria@safeharborshelter.com

Lorraine Abarca
Client Services Advocate
lorraine@safeharborshelter.com

Susan McLaughlin
Client Services Advocate
susan@safeharborshelter.com

Talia Steele
Client Services Advocate
talia@safeharborshelter.com

Zara Siddiqui
Client Services Advocate
zara@safeharborshelter.com

Destiny Brazeal
Client Services Advocate
destiny@safeharborshelter.com