About Safe Harbor

About Us

We work to save, transform, and rebuild lives.

We support those who are experiencing or have experienced domestic violence, sexual violence, or human trafficking.

In all of our programs, we work from a trauma-informed and empowerment-focused lens. We see each survivor as the expert of their own experiences and strive to create a safe and welcoming space for all. Our goals are to help clients understand and address the impact of trauma and build resilience.

Our services are available in both English and Spanish and are available to anyone who has experienced sexual assault, domestic violence, or human trafficking regardless of race, gender, age, national origin, immigration status, gender identity or expression, faith, sexual orientation, disability, ethnicity, and geographic location. Because survivors are often controlled financially by their abuser and cannot pay for services without fear of retribution, all services are offered free of charge to the survivor.

We offer comprehensive services for survivors of domestic violence, sexual violence, and human trafficking including: individual and group counseling, children/youth services, 24-hour helpline, court advocacy, emergency shelter, hospital accompaniment, and community education and training.

Long term, we are committed to transforming the lives of survivors. By providing shelter, counseling, support, education, and advocacy to survivors, we are helping those who have been impacted by violence and abuse to heal, rebuild, and move forward with their lives.

We were founded in 1998 when representatives of Bon Secours Richmond Health System, Commonwealth Catholic Charities, Henrico County, The Salvation Army, Virginia Commonwealth University Sexual Assault Program, and the YWCA of Richmond met to address the shortage of shelter beds and support services in Henrico County for domestic violence victims. We opened our doors in April 2000 as an emergency shelter to provide safe housing for victims of domestic violence in imminent danger.

While Henrico County is our primary service area, we are proud to collaborate with our community partners to serve the Greater Richmond region.

Safe Harbor Board of Directors:

Angie Dempsey, President – Senior Development Officer, Bon Secours Richmond Health Care Foundation

Mandi Libby, Vice President – Senior Manager Global TA Operations, Twilio

Steve D’Ambrosia, Treasurer – Vice President and Controller, Altria Group, Inc.

LaTanya B. Shelley, Secretary – Administrative Assistant Senior, VCU Health 

Emily Cherry -Senior Manager, Executive Communications, Carmax

Peter Eisenhauer – Business Director, Capital One

Kate Murray Kelley-Director, Associate General Counsel, CarMax

Pat McCarthy – Division Manager, HHHunt Homes

Harold McManus – Community Volunteer

Lesley Newberry – Owner, StandTALL, LLC

Jane Savoca – Community Volunteer

Katelyn Turner – Community Relations Manager, St. Andrew’s School

Ann Yauger – AVP, Product Management, CarMax

Lori Belza – Community Volunteer

Baird Beers, Jr – Senior Director, Associate General Councel, Capital One

Grace Choi – Chief Compliance Officer and Head of Client Services, Wills Financial Group

Stephanie Dixon – Human Resources, VP Grafton

Leah Dodge  – President, Decorum Interiors

Daniel Sellergren  – Senior Engineer and Technical Lead, Hopin

Megan Shockley – Realtor, Nestiny Realty

Monica Warren – Defense Logistics Agency – Aviation 

 

Staff:

Leadership Team

Cathy Easter
Executive Director
cathy@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x131

Cindy Capriles, LCSW, CTP-C
Clinical Director
cindy@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x118

Kailie Smith
Director of Education, Outreach, and Community Engagement
kailie@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x120

Mary Maupai
Development Director
mary@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x117

Alexandria “Ali” Wall
Director of Human Trafficking Services
alexandria@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x141

Katherine Moore
Volunteer & Administrative Manager
katherine@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x123

 

Development Team

Sara Tiamson
Development Assistant
sara@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x129

Finance Team

Kat Zarfas
Finance Assistant
kat@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x110

Counseling Team

Blanca Barrera, LCSW
Bilingual Senior Therapist
blanca@safeharborshelter.com

Liz Cozzati, LCSW
Assistant Clinical Director
liz@safeharborshelter.com

Eva Carlisle, MSW, Supervisee in Social Work
Bilingual Therapist
eva@safeharborshelter.com

Selena Hicks, MAAT, ATR-P
Therapist
salena@safeharborshelter.com

Britany Brown, M.S., M.A.
Therapist
britany@safeharborshelter.com

Jeremy Winslow, MSW, Supervisee in Social Work
Therapist
jeremy@safeharborshelter.com

Ann Lee Dabney, M.S.
Therapist
annelee@safeharborshelter.com

Sonja Paviour, MSW
Bilingual Therapist
sonja@safeharborshelter.com 

 

Safe Houses Team

Victoria Barahona
Bilingual Case Manager
victoria@safeharborshelter.com

Lorianne West
Shelter Coordinator
lorianna@safeharborshelter.com

Carolyn Foster
Case Manager
carolyn@safeharborshelter.com

Raven White
Client Liaison
raven@safeharborshelter.com

Chaney Allen
Client Service Advocate
chaney@safeharborshelter.com

Ginaya Hodge
Client Service Advocate
ginaya@safeharborshelter.com

Erin Cave
Client Service Advocate
erin@safeharborshelter.com

Susan McLaughlin
Shelter Coordinator
susan@safeharborshelter.com

Talia Steele
Client Service Advocate
talia@safeharborshelter.com

Kim Hill
Client Service Advocate
kimberlyh@safeharborshelter.com

Lakeshia Carmine
Client Service Advocate
lakeshia@safeharborshelter.com

Erin Barclay
Human Trafficking Case Manager
erin@safeharborshelter.com

Court Advocacy Team