About Safe Harbor

About Us

We work to save, transform, and rebuild lives.

We support those who are experiencing or have experienced domestic violence, sexual violence, or human trafficking.

In all of our programs, we work from a trauma-informed and empowerment-focused lens. We see each survivor as the expert of their own experiences and strive to create a safe and welcoming space for all. Our goals are to help clients understand and address the impact of trauma and build resilience.

Our services are available in both English and Spanish and are available to anyone who has experienced sexual assault, domestic violence, or human trafficking regardless of race, gender, age, national origin, immigration status, gender identity or expression, faith, sexual orientation, disability, ethnicity, and geographic location. Because survivors are often controlled financially by their abuser and cannot pay for services without fear of retribution, all services are offered free of charge to the survivor.

We offer comprehensive services for survivors of domestic violence, sexual violence, and human trafficking including: individual and group counseling, children/youth services, 24-hour helpline, court advocacy, emergency shelter, hospital accompaniment, and community education and training.

Long term, we are committed to transforming the lives of survivors. By providing shelter, counseling, support, education, and advocacy to survivors, we are helping those who have been impacted by violence and abuse to heal, rebuild, and move forward with their lives.

We were founded in 1998 when representatives of Bon Secours Richmond Health System, Commonwealth Catholic Charities, Henrico County, The Salvation Army, Virginia Commonwealth University Sexual Assault Program, and the YWCA of Richmond met to address the shortage of shelter beds and support services in Henrico County for domestic violence victims. We opened our doors in April 2000 as an emergency shelter to provide safe housing for victims of domestic violence in imminent danger.

While Henrico County is our primary service area, we are proud to collaborate with our community partners to serve the Greater Richmond region.

Safe Harbor Board of Directors:

Brendan Paget, President – VP, Global Sales Operations, Allianz Partners

Jennifer Scheller, Vice President – Associate Attorney, Hill & Rainey Attorneys

Steve D’Ambrosia,Treasurer-Vice President and Controller, Altria Group, Inc.

Angie Dempsey, Secretary – Senior Development Officer, Bon Secours Richmond Health Care Foundation

Emily Cherry-Assistant Dean for Communications & Strategic Initiatives, University of Richmond

Peter Eisenhauer – Business Director, Capital One

Steve Girard-Regional President, Mid-Atlantic Region-Markel Assurance

Kate Murray Kelly-Director, Associate General Counsel, CarMax

Mandi Libby-Senior Manager Global TA Operations, Twilio

Pat McCarthy – Division Manager, HHHunt Homes

Harold McManus – Community Volunteer

Lesley Newberry – Owner, StandTALL, LLC

Jane Savoca – Community Volunteer

LaTanya B. Shelley-Administrative Assistant Senior, VCU

Mindy Telliard – Product Stewardship & Regulatory Manager, DuPont

Katelyn Turner – Community Relations Manager, St. Andrew’s School

Ann Yauger – AVP, Product Management, CarMax

Staff:

Leadership Team

Cathy Easter
Executive Director
cathy@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x11

Cindy Capriles, LCSW, CTP-C
Director of Counseling
cindy@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x18

John Gould
Director of Finance
john@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x10

Kimberly Dailey
Director of Safe Houses
kimberly@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x32

Mary Maupai
Development Director
mary@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x17

Paz Ochs
Director of Court Advocacy
paz@safeharborshelter.com
804-501-7696

Rebecca Hawthorne, Ed.D.
Director of Data & Evaluation
rebecca@safeharborshelter.com
804-249-9470 x33

 

Education & Outreach Team

Katherine Moore
Volunteer & Outreach Manager
katherine@safeharborshelter.com

Lorin Cahow
Outreach & Education Manager
lorinc@safeharborshelter.com

Court Team

Amber Stanwix
Court Advocate
amber@safeharborshelter.com

Finance Team

Kat Sanders
Finance Assistant
karen@safeharborshelter.com

Counseling Team

Blanca Barrera, MSW, Supervisee in Social Work
Bilingual Counselor
blanca@safeharborshelter.com

Liz Cozzati, LCSW
Counselor
liz@safeharborshelter.com
Eva Carlisle
Bilingual Counselor
eva@safeharborshelter.com

Nicole Cason, MSW, Supervisee in Social Work
Counselor
nicolec@safeharborshelter.com

Alyssia Rodriguez
Counselor
alyssia@safeharborshelter.com

Safe Houses Team

Victoria Barahona
Bilingual Case Manager
victoria@safeharborshelter.com

Kimberly Hill
Shelter Coordinator
kimberlyh@safeharborshelter.com

Carolyn Foster
Case Manager
carolyn@safeharborshelter.com

Erin Cave
Client Service Advocate
erin@safeharborshelter.com

Raven White
Client Service Advocate
raven@safeharborshelter.com

Ginaya Hodge
Client Service Advocate
ginaya@safeharborshelter.com

Salena Hicks
Client Service Advocate
salena@safeharborshelter.com

Sarah Robeson
Client Service Advocate
sarah@safeharborshelter.com

Chaney Allen
Client Service Advocate
chaney@safeharborshelter.com

LaKeisha Pedrick
Shelter Coordinator
lakeisha@safeharborshelter.com

Maria Altonen
Client Service Advocate
maria@safeharborshelter.com

Lorraine Abarca
Client Service Advocate
lorraine@safeharborshelter.com

Susan McLaughlin
Shelter Coordinator
susan@safeharborshelter.com

Talia Steele
Client Service Advocate
talia@safeharborshelter.com

Michelle D’Ambra
Client Service Advocate
michelle@safeharborshelter.com

Heather Miller
Client Service Advocate
heather@safeharborshelter.com

Elena Schmelter
Client Service Advocate
elenas@safeharborshelter.com

Elizabeth Beving
Client Service Advocate
elizabeth@safeharborshelter.com